top of page
  • buisyntakempcalhum

How to Survive Goosebumps Books by R.L. Stine: Tips and Tricks from the Master of Horror



But I said, 'Oh, sure, no problem. No problem.' I went running to the bookstore to see what people were doing, what it was about. I wrote this book. Blind Date is the number one bestseller. Wait a minute. Forget the funny stuff.




goosebumps books by rl stine



STINE: So, yeah. So I mean, I think, well, what would it be? What would be in it or what if some kids discovered it? [Then] what? And the title leads me to the story. So I work backwards from every other author. They get the idea first and think of the title later. But all my books start with the title.


STINE: Everything. Right. You know, I have to write about this dummy that comes to life, Slappy. The evil dummy. Right. He's my favorite character [and] my least favorite character. Why my favorite? Because everyone loves him. And this Halloween, thousands of kids will go out with Slappy. And that's a real thrill. My least favorite, because who wants to write over and over again about a dummy that comes? I've written 15 books about a dummy that comes to life and it gets harder every time.


STINE: No. Total suspense. Here's my favorite letter. Maybe you've heard me tell this one from all the years, from a boy. 'Dear R.L. Stine. I've read 40 of your books, and I think they're really boring.'


PRIME: Yeah, well, so are all the people, all the generations of kids who learn to read because of your books. Who read under the covers with the flashlight. My son says he loved the \"Goosebumps\" series as well. Right. And the movie where Jack Black [played Slappy].


Goosebumps is a series of children's horror fiction books by author R. L. Stine. Following the success of his young adult horror novels, Stine was convinced to write a series for younger readers ages 9-12. The first book in the Classic Goosebumps series is Welcome to the Dead House, and the success of the Goosebumps books eventually led to 13 sequel and spin-off series. The books do not need to be read in order. The Goosebumps series is a great way to get kids into spooky stories. Goosebumps was made into a television series with 68 episodes in the 1990s and major feature film starring Jack Black as "R.L. Stine" in 2015.


When first starting out in the publishing industry, Stine couldn't help but remember his childhood filled with comic books. "There were these great horror comics when I was a kid," he said. "Tales from the Crypt and The Vault of Horror were really nasty, horrible and all had great twist endings and great artwork."


Just in time for the Halloween season, kids of all ages will be able to read a special edition Goosebumps book titled Slappy, Beware! when it goes on sale Sept. 20. Like all of his books, Stine hopes the words, pictures and stories will get children excited about reading.


When first starting out in the publishing industry, Stine couldn't help but remember his childhood filled with comic books. "There were these great horror comics when I was a kid," he said. "'Tales from the Crypt' and 'The Vault of Horror' were really nasty, horrible and all had great twist endings and great artwork."


Just in time for the Halloween season, kids of all ages will be able to read a special edition "Goosebumps" book titled "Slappy, Beware!" when it goes on sale Sept. 20. Like all of his books, Stine hopes the words, pictures and stories will get children excited about reading.


Over the course of his career, Stine has written hundreds of books for young readers. Almost none of them, he points out, are taken from his own life experience, which explains his issue with another piece of often-cited writing advice.


After so many years and so many Goosebumps books, Stine has ironed out a consistent schedule for his writing. He writes 2,000 words a day (about 10 pages), and once he hits that mark, he stops in the middle of whatever he's doing to pick it up the next day. The process stays similar even for slightly different projects, such as the Man-Thing comic Stine wrote for Marvel last year.


"I've written a lot of scripts before, and it was sort of like writing a TV script, trying to be very visual," Stine says of the Man-Thing process. "It was a nice experience, and I had a lot of fun. I may do some more comic books. That was the first one in my whole life! Which is kind of strange because I started out, when I was 9 years old, writing little comic books. Now here I am, all these years later. Comics were a major influence on me. I talk a lot in the MasterClass about influences like Tales From the Crypt, because they were horrifying, gruesome comics and they were funny at the same time. They all had funny twist endings. That's exactly what I try to do in all my books. I talk a lot in the class about the authors I've stolen from, like Agatha Christie and Rod Serling. You get all these influences from everywhere; it's a matter of channeling them and getting them organized in your head."


The combination of scariness and funniness. When I read the script, I did give comments to make sure that it never gets too scary. If something really frightening starts, something funny happens. I think all my books have that kind of balance between funniness and scariness. I just wanted to make sure that the movie has that balance, and it does.


Innovative choices like these exist in all kinds of books. They can take the form of unconventional chapter headings, unreliable narrators, or even unusual type settings and page designs. If you need a break the standard run-of-the-mill storytelling, consider a book that pushes the boundaries of expectation.


But fear not, should you want a list of all the Goosebumps books, I can help. Below you will find a list of all the Goosebumps novels, beginning with the original line, and continuing through the various spin-offs including: Give Yourself Goosebumps, Goosebumps Series 2000, HorrorLand, Most Wanted, and SlappyWorld.


Eight years after the publication of the final entry in the Goosebumps 2000 book series, R. L. Stine returned to the Goosebumps brand with yet another spin-off series: HorrorLand. A total of 25 books were published in the HorrorLand series, comprising 19 regular books and six Hall of Horrors.


As always Wolf, another great blog on banned books. Though I can honestly say I have never read any of the R.L. Stine "Goose Bump" books. Mostly because I just am not a horror novel fan and this stems to way back. Though I do remember my younger sister loving these books. Every time I read your blog I can't help but to thank my parents for letting us choose what we wanted to read not what they wanted us to read. Because of this it helped instill a great love of reading into all of my siblings and my life.


How weird are the Goosebumps books? Why dopeople love them so much? How do you say Goosebumps inDutch? What highly inappropriate Freudian subtext can ourhosts insert into their conversation about these stories foryoung readers? All these questions and more will be answered inthis episode of BadBooks for Bad People.


Parents need to know that R.L. Stine's Goosebumps series lives up its name. These well-written, spooky mysteries assume the paranormal is normal, that parents eat dinner guests, or kids turn into lizard-faced creepers. That premise aside, these books reflect the reality of young readers' worlds: They go visit relatives, or are bullied at school, or fight with a sibling or parent, or feel misunderstood, and the writing can pack an emotional hit. The kids in these fast-paced horror stories are in real danger -- from, for example, monsters trying to take over the world, or murderous ghost children trying to create more playmates in the afterlife -- and sensitive readers could take that danger to heart. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Can 39;t Download Hearthstone

Como corrigir problemas de download do Hearthstone Hearthstone é um popular jogo de cartas online que milhões de jogadores desfrutam...

Comments


bottom of page